Physical Address

304 North Cardinal St.
Dorchester Center, MA 02124

Pakistan Cricket Squad Announced for T20 Series Against New Zealand

LAHORE – The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has unveiled an 18-member squad for the upcoming T20 series against New Zealand, prioritizing match experience and player fitness ahead of the T20 World Cup.

Pakistan Cricket Squad Announced for T20 Series Against New Zealand

Selectors have emphasized providing ample opportunities for players to gain match practice, with notable inclusions and considerations shaping the squad dynamics.

Left-arm pacer Mohammad Amir and all-rounder Imad Wasim, recent returnees from international retirement, are set to receive significant playing time to regain match fitness essential for international cricket.

However, the squad faces uncertainties as Haris Rauf is still recovering from injuries sustained during the Pakistan Super League (PSL) and Fakhar Zaman’s inclusion remains in doubt due to ongoing fitness battles following an injury in the recent PSL season.

Usman Khan emerges as a probable inclusion, expected to occupy the number four spot in the playing XI against New Zealand. Selector Naqvi affirmed, “Usman Khan is being considered for the squad.”

Confirmed members of the squad include Babar Azam, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Saim Ayub, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Shaheen Afridi, and Naseem Shah. Additionally, players like Agha Salman, Sahibzada Farhan, Irfan Khan Niazi, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Zaman Khan, and Abbas Afridi are under consideration for inclusion.

The selection dilemma extends to the choice between Abrar Ahmed and Usama Mir for the final spot in the squad.

Pakistan Implements National Space Activities Rules 2024 to Regulate Space Operations

The New Zealand team is slated to arrive in Pakistan on April 14th for the five-match T20 series, commencing on April 18th, with three matches scheduled in Pindi and the remaining two in Lahore.

Meanwhile, New Zealand’s squad, captained by Michael Bracewell, includes notable names like Finn Allen, Jimmy Neesham, and Adam Milne, among others, promising an exciting contest between the two sides.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *